The Four Levels of Communication

The Four Levels of Communication


Four Levels of CommunicationThere are levels to everything in life, right? Same applies for effective communication! Let's jump into the Four levels of communication and how to keep ourselves in check!

Effective communication is not just about exchanging information, Goddess. It’s about understanding the emotion and intentions behind the information. We must have a grounded appreciation for someone else's unique perception of the world. 

Everyone's experiences are different and our internal representations determine how we view and interpret the experiences with others. The goal of communication is to understand the person, not jump to conclusions, assumptions, or judge what is being said. 

There are 4 levels of communication: 

  • What you intend to say
  • What you actually say 
  • What the other person hears 
  • What the other person thinks you meant

Create a check list to keep yourself in check while communicating with others. Consider your reasoning, Identify if you are being selective, interpreting without asking, making assumptions, forming conclusions, or deciding what to do. You can always ask the person you are speaking with to confirm what you heard and be patient and open to receive the message. 

Be sure to do the following: 

  • Fully focus on the person in which you are communicating with
  • Do not interrupt a person when they speak 
  • Ask questions to confirm statements 
  • Set aside judgment
  • Respect speaker's boundaries

Share this post